Register    Login    Search   View active topics    FAQ




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Mortal Kombat Arcade Collection on Windows 8.1
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 8:49 pm 
Offline
Mortal
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 5:20 am
Posts: 39
Location: Greece, Germany
XBox Live: rocksoldier1990 or NtiNti1989
Hi all! I have a steam account with MKAK. I bought the game one year and a half ago. I played it for half a year and then i did a format on my laptop. I upgrade my system from windows 7 to 8.1 and as you know GFWL died last year and i can't play on 8.1. My questions are:

1) The game still works on Windows 7? If yes you can play also online on steam?

2) I read that there are many people out there that they can't play the game with Windows 8.1 I sent some tweets to Ed Boon to do something with the game but i guess he didn't even see my tweets :P Does anyone here play on Windows 8.1? Is there a solution to play the game?

P.S Lot's of people on steam vote for the game to change from GFWL to steamplay! I like that there are still people out there that love the classic MK games!

Any respond would be appreciated


Top 
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mortal Kombat Arcade Collection on Windows 8.1
 Post Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2015 12:00 pm 
Offline
Elder God
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2003 4:17 pm
Posts: 8032
Location: Bulgaria, Germany
Side: Light
XBox Live: Armored Gambid
I haven't started the game for ages on my laptop but I will test it tonight and let you know. I have Windows 7.

_________________
I Rule This World!

Image

By the unholy darkness that consumes me, I will have the Earthrealm.

Mortal Kombat Secrets Founder and Webmaster


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mortal Kombat Arcade Collection on Windows 8.1
 Post Posted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 5:19 pm 
Offline
Mortal
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 5:20 am
Posts: 39
Location: Greece, Germany
XBox Live: rocksoldier1990 or NtiNti1989
Gambid wrote:
I haven't started the game for ages on my laptop but I will test it tonight and let you know. I have Windows 7.


Thank you Gambid but i fixed the issue. For those who want to learn how i did it i will tell you (for Windows 8.1 users)

1) Uninstall GFWL and GFWL Marketplace
2) Reboot your computer (don't skip that)
3) Download GFWL client http://www.xbox.com/el-GR/LIVE/PC/DownloadClient
4) Right click on the installer and select properties and choose compatibility for Windows 7. Apply settings and choose ok
5) Right click on the installer and select 'run as administrator'
6) Install and select ok for the updates
7) Then run the game and it should work :D

P.S) If you do all these steps and the game still not work maybe the troubleshooter will help you. When the troubleshooter run it will ask you on witch version of Windows the program used to work. Select Windows 7 and then try again.

Hope i help you all guys with that. Thanks to steam forums :D


Top 
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mortal Kombat Arcade Collection on Windows 8.1
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2015 4:54 am 
Offline
Mortal
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 4:13 pm
Posts: 4
XBox Live: urbanman2004
rocksoldier1990 wrote:
Gambid wrote:
I haven't started the game for ages on my laptop but I will test it tonight and let you know. I have Windows 7.


Thank you Gambid but i fixed the issue. For those who want to learn how i did it i will tell you (for Windows 8.1 users)

1) Uninstall GFWL and GFWL Marketplace
2) Reboot your computer (don't skip that)
3) Download GFWL client http://www.xbox.com/el-GR/LIVE/PC/DownloadClient
4) Right click on the installer and select properties and choose compatibility for Windows 7. Apply settings and choose ok
5) Right click on the installer and select 'run as administrator'
6) Install and select ok for the updates
7) Then run the game and it should work :D

P.S) If you do all these steps and the game still not work maybe the troubleshooter will help you. When the troubleshooter run it will ask you on witch version of Windows the program used to work. Select Windows 7 and then try again.

Hope i help you all guys with that. Thanks to steam forums :D


Your suggestion to change the compatibility mode to Windows 7 helped me solve this problem. Thanks


Top 
 Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

  Design by Mighty Gorgon